Compare

QA Reef vs every competitor

One table, QA Reef against all 19 platforms we researched, on the capabilities that actually separate them. Every competitor cell is drawn from that vendor's own public pages, as of August 2026.

Where a vendor does not publish a price, the cell reads "Not published" rather than a guess. QA Reef is pre-launch with no customers. It is not affiliated with any product named here; the names identify the products being compared, nothing more.

The feature matrix

The QA Reef column is highlighted. Scroll the table sideways for the rest. Each platform name links to its full, sourced write-up.

CapabilityQA ReefQA WolfMuukTestRainforest QATestimmablAutifyFunctionizeReflectBrowserStackChecklyApplitoolstestRigorVirtuoso QAKatalonTestsigmaMomenticMeticulousoutsourced QA agenciesyour own Playwright setup
Open-source coreOpen coreCLI Apache-2.0, core MIT, repo in progressPartialCLI and flows OSS, platform closedNoCI helpers MITNoCLI is MITNoexamples onlyNoMIT SDKs and CLINoMIT SDKs and orbsNoNoNoSDKsPartialCLI, SDK, Helm Apache-2.0, shippingNoApache-2.0 SDKsNoplugins onlyNoNofree EULA, not OSSYesApache-2.0 coreNoMIT CLINoISC SDKN/Abuild on OSS frameworksYesApache-2.0
Self-hostableYesyour hardware or oursNohosted gridNot statedNohosted on GCPNot statedNomanaged cloudPartialNexus on-prem execNocloud ML requiredNocloud browsersPartialAutomate self-hostedPartialprivate locationsNot publishedYeson-prem optionUnclearcloud platformYeson-premYesOSS or on-premNolocal, CI, or cloud runNot publishedUsuallyyour CIYesentirely yours
Who writes the testsYourecord, or agent from a goalVendor QA teamVendor engineersYouno-codeYoulow-codeYouAI-generatedYouNL, low-code, or codeAIfrom your promptYouno-codeYoulow-codeYouPlaywright codeYouSDK or no-codeYouplain EnglishYounatural languageYouagent, no-code, or codeYouplain EnglishYou plus agentNL specNone writtenauto from real sessionsVendor engineersYoucode or codegen
Pricing modelFlat + usagehosted from $20/mo, $0.015/min past includedUsagecredits plus runner-minutesOutcome-basedSales quoteFree tier plus salesCreditsquoted by salesPublished tiersPublished tiersCredit tiersvia salesPublished plus salesPublished tiersPublished plus salesPublished plus salesConsumptionvia salesPer seatpublishedOSS free plus salesPublished tiersNot publishedno public pageSales quoteFreeself-run
Published entry price$0 core; $20/mo hostedSolo, 1,333 min included$0.01/credit + $0.15/minself-serve cardNot publishedNot publishedFree Communitypaid via salesNot publishedfrom 500 credits/mo$99/moCore, annualFree, then $20/moNot published1 credit per web test$29/moLive, annualFree, then $24/mo$667/moStarter, annualFree, then $300/moPrivateNot published$84/seat/moannualOSS freecloud not publishedFree, then $125/moNot publishedNot publishedno agency lists a rate$0plus engineer time
Flaky-run handlingHeal ladderplus an UNMEASURED verdictDOM analysis, then human verifyHuman team plus smart locatorsFallback targetingscreenshot, DOM, AISmart locatorsAuto-healFix with AIML self-healSelf-healSelf-healing agentN/Amonitoring, not testingDeterministic plus Exec CloudAI, no XPathML self-healLocators, then LLMAuto-heal locatorsSelf-heal specsFlake-free schedulerHumans absorb itYou build itretries, quarantine
Self-healingQuarantinedmodel heals wait for a humanYesDOM-basedYesplus humanYesYesYesYesYesYesYesNonot its jobYesExecution CloudYesYesYesauto-appliesYesYesN/Ano locatorsManualNoDIY
Legacy / canvas / iframeYesOCR screen-readingNot statedDOM locatorsNot statedPartialpixel-matchingSalesforcecanvas not statedNot statedNot statedNoweb UIPartialvisual detectionNot statedN/APartialvisualBroaddesktop, mainframe, 2FAPackaged appsSalesforce, WorkdayDesktopcanvas noSalesforce, desktopNot statedNot statedYeshumans handle anythingHardmanual coordinates
CI / deploy-checkCLI, Action, Vercel checkCLI plus CICI/CDCircleCI orbCircleCI, GH Actions, CLIJenkins, CircleCI, GHGH, GitLab, JenkinsCircleCI, Jenkins, GHNone namedGH Actions, Jenkins, AzureAll major CIAs code via CLIManylist unverifiedJenkins, CircleCI, AzureGH, Azure, JenkinsVery broadJenkins, CircleCI, AzureGH Actions, CircleCIGH, GitLab, CircleCIYour stackAny pipeline
Website to API modeYesnetwork-captureNoNoNoNoNo(does API test type)NoNoNoNoNo(runs API monitors)NoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNo
Data ownershipYoursself-host or per-workspaceTheir platformYour scripts, their platformHostedSOC 2 Type IIHostedHostedSOC 2 Type IIHostedon-prem exec optionHostedHostedHostedself-host exec optionHostedplus private agentsHostedHostedon-prem optionHostedHostedon-prem optionYours (OSS)or cloudTheir cloudSOC 2 Type 2Vendorrecords real sessionsYours, plus contractor access100% yours
Agentic maintenanceYesexplore and heal agentAI plus human teamHuman teamAI draftingAI agentAI-nativeAximo agent, GenesisAI agentsAISelf-healing agentNoAutonomous productAIMLAgent modeMCPAIYesagentsAutomaticno agentHumansNo
Human-in-the-loop reviewYesheal review plus agent inboxYesQA engineersYesQA teamYou steerYouYouYoureview the AI fixYouYouYouYouYouapprove visual diffsYouYouYouYouYouYouapprove diffsYesthe vendor is the humanYou
CAPTCHA stanceHandles iton apps you are authorized to testNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedHumans solve itYou handle it

Two honest notes we keep on the record: on the open-source row, Testsigma and Checkly ship an OSI-licensed core today while QA Reef's is still being extracted to a public repo, and Momentic has SOC 2 and mobile that QA Reef does not. CAPTCHA handling is rarely documented by any vendor, so those cells show only what each states, not necessarily the full capability.

By category

Prefer prose to a grid? Each write-up states what the platform is good at and who should pick it over us.

QA as a service

QA Wolf · MuukTest

Codeless AI platforms

Rainforest QA · Testim · mabl · Autify · Functionize · Reflect

Platforms & grids

BrowserStack · Checkly · Applitools

Plain-English platforms

testRigor · Virtuoso QA · Katalon · Testsigma

AI test agents

Momentic · Meticulous

Comparing frameworks rather than vendors? We read the end-to-end suites of 16 public products and wrote up what a Cypress to Playwright migration actually costs, and what the same counts say about flaky tests. If the decision is still open, Playwright vs Cypress puts the two side by side on counts rather than feature lists.

What QA Reef actually is

An open-core QA agent you deploy like a Vercel project: record or describe a flow, get a deterministic Playwright spec, run it on your hardware or ours, and get PASS, FAIL, or UNMEASURED back.

  • Open core. The qareef CLI is Apache-2.0; the automation core under packages/core is MIT, with extraction to a public repo in progress.
  • One recorded flow, four run modes. Explore and record a flow, then run it for data entry, scraping, a website-to-API endpoint (real network capture), or a plain test. Deployed like a Vercel project over a GUID-addressed workflow → suite → flow → step tree.
  • Deterministic codegen. The Playwright spec is written by code. The model only proposes a title and assertions, each stamped decided_by with the exact model id and its cost.
  • Self-healing that refuses. Model-proposed heals are quarantined for a human, never auto-promoted. A coordinate click, or a run that healed too much, returns UNMEASURED, not a pass.
  • It reads the screen. Apple Vision OCR or a vision model, for canvas and legacy UIs with no stable locators. A free local-model backend means a self-hosted run can cost $0.
  • Pre-launch. No customers, no case studies, no SOC 2, no native mobile, no managed human-QA service. Hosted plans are published but billing opens in waves. Every page here says so.

See the product Talk to the team

Questions

How honest is this matrix, really?

We sell one of the columns, so weigh it accordingly. What we hold to: every competitor cell is read from that vendor's own public pages, dated as of August 2026, and phrased as what they publish, not as an absolute claim. Nothing about pricing, customers or benchmarks is estimated. And we keep the cells where a rival beats us in plain sight, not buried.

Where does a rival beat QA Reef on this table?

On the open-source row, Testsigma and Checkly ship an OSI-licensed core today while QA Reef's is still being extracted to a public repo. Momentic has SOC 2 and native mobile that QA Reef does not. The managed services (QA Wolf, MuukTest, outsourced agencies) put a human in front of every failure, which QA Reef does not offer.

Why do so many cells say "Not published"?

Because those vendors do not publish the figure. Most enterprise QA pricing runs through a sales call. We would rather write "Not published" than repeat a number from a third-party aggregator as if it were the vendor's own. Eight of the platforms here do publish a real entry price, and those are quoted exactly.

How much does QA Reef cost?

Published on the pricing page. The open-source core is free, self-hosted: you pay only for your own model calls, each logged with its model id and cost, and with the free local-model backend that bill is $0. Hosted plans: a free tier with 500 browser-minutes a month, Solo at $20/mo with 1,333 minutes included, Team at $99/mo with 10,000, Scale at $499/mo with 60,000, all then $0.015 per browser-minute. Hosted billing is pre-launch and opens in waves with $20 of signup credit.

Is QA Reef affiliated with any of these companies?

No. Every product name here belongs to its owner and is used only to identify the product being compared. No logos are used, and nothing here implies a partnership, sponsorship or endorsement in either direction.

Going deeper on QA Wolf specifically?

Three longer pages: the alternative case, their sourced pricing, and the architecture side by side.

QA Wolf alternative QA Wolf pricing Architecture, in depth